Skip to page content
Power & PoliticsUnited States edition
My Hub
Turnout history · Ohio

How Ohio voted, 2004 to 2024

In 2024, local election offices in Ohio reported counting 5,851,625 ballots, or 72.5 for every 100 registered voters.

These are the counts that each local election office sent to the U.S. Election Assistance Commission after every November election: registered voters, ballots cast and how they were cast, mail ballots sent and rejected, provisional ballots, overseas and military voters, polling places and poll workers. Where an office gave no figure, the page says so and says why. No figure here is an estimate. Voting history timeline for Ohio · 2026 early and mail vote counts

Choose another state or county

How people voted

Measure

Each way of voting as a share of the ballots cast by those three ways. Overseas, provisional and other ballots are left out of the share. Some offices count early or mail ballots under another line.

Ohio

  • In person on Election Day
  • In person, early
  • By mail or absentee
  • Other ways, or not itemized by the office
How Ohio voted: share of ballots by methodShare of ballots cast on Election Day, early in person and by mail, for each survey year; ballots not itemized by way of voting are a fourth band.0%25%50%75%100%2004’04In person on Election Day, 2004: 87.2%87In person, early, 2004: 0%By mail or absentee, 2004: 0%Other ways, or not itemized by the office, 2004: 12.8%132006’06In person on Election Day, 2006: 82.7%83In person, early, 2006: 0%By mail or absentee, 2006: 14.8%15Other ways, or not itemized by the office, 2006: 2.6%2008’08In person on Election Day, 2008: 66.5%67In person, early, 2008: 6.7%By mail or absentee, 2008: 22.5%23Other ways, or not itemized by the office, 2008: 4.3%2010’10In person on Election Day, 2010: 71.6%72In person, early, 2010: 4%By mail or absentee, 2010: 21.4%21Other ways, or not itemized by the office, 2010: 3.1%2012’12In person on Election Day, 2012: 63%63In person, early, 2012: 10.7%11By mail or absentee, 2012: 22.4%22Other ways, or not itemized by the office, 2012: 4%2014’14In person on Election Day, 2014: 71%71In person, early, 2014: 4.6%By mail or absentee, 2014: 22.8%23Other ways, or not itemized by the office, 2014: 1.6%2016’16In person on Election Day, 2016: 63.9%64In person, early, 2016: 11.9%12By mail or absentee, 2016: 21.5%22Other ways, or not itemized by the office, 2016: 2.7%2018’18In person on Election Day, 2018: 67.3%67In person, early, 2018: 9.5%10By mail or absentee, 2018: 20.8%21Other ways, or not itemized by the office, 2018: 2.4%2020’20In person on Election Day, 2020: 39.3%39In person, early, 2020: 22.5%23By mail or absentee, 2020: 35.7%36Other ways, or not itemized by the office, 2020: 2.5%2022’22In person on Election Day, 2022: 63.2%63In person, early, 2022: 13.1%13By mail or absentee, 2022: 21.7%22Other ways, or not itemized by the office, 2022: 2%2024’24In person on Election Day, 2024: 53.5%53In person, early, 2024: 26.3%26By mail or absentee, 2024: 18.1%18Other ways, or not itemized by the office, 2024: 2.1%
Share of ballots counted, among places that reported. A way of voting that a place reported as not applicable, such as no early voting, counts as zero. Mail includes ballots cast in all-mail elections. A way a place did not report is not guessed: those ballots sit in the last band, which is the total counted minus the ways that were reported (it also holds overseas and provisional ballots). “n/a” means no share is shown that year: no way of voting was reported, or the ways reported cover less than half of the ballots counted. The table gives the reason. Numbers inside the bars are whole percentages.
ElectionElection DayEarly in personMail or absenteeShare by method (Election Day / early / mail / other)
2024 3,130,240 1,536,604 1,060,096 53.5% / 26.3% / 18.1% / 2.1%
2022 2,654,497 550,092 911,517 63.2% / 13.1% / 21.7% / 2%
2020 2,344,886 1,345,715 2,135,600 39.3% / 22.5% / 35.7% / 2.5%
2018 3,040,698 429,916 941,447 67.3% / 9.5% / 20.8% / 2.4%
2016 3,585,835 665,526 1,206,416 63.9% / 11.9% / 21.5% / 2.7%
2014 2,236,953 145,631 717,866 71% / 4.6% / 22.8% / 1.6%
2012 3,547,582 600,647 1,259,904 63% / 10.7% / 22.4% / 4%
2010 2,820,613 156,373 (87 of 88 places reported) 841,640 71.6% / 4% / 21.4% / 3.1%
2008 3,771,194 386,390 (60 of 87 places reported) 1,288,451 (84 of 87 places reported) 66.5% / 6.7% / 22.5% / 4.3% (85 of 87 places reported ways of voting)
2006 3,566,237 No figure in the commission's file 630,016 82.7% / 0% / 14.8% / 2.6% (87 of 88 places reported ways of voting)
2004 4,995,745 Not asked in that year's survey Not asked in that year's survey 87.2% / 0% / 0% / 12.8%

Download these figures as a spreadsheet (CSV)

Source: U.S. Election Assistance Commission, Election Administration and Voting Survey ↗, EAVS Time Series, county version (data file ↗, user guide and codebook ↗). Retrieved Nov 2, 2026. File SHA-256 a10de20cba65514f…

Compare two years

Ohio: 2020 and 2024

Measure20202024Change
Voters
Registered voters 8,073,829 8,074,098 +269 (+0%)
Active registered voters 8,073,829 7,054,966 (87 of 88 places reported) −1,018,863 (−12.6%)
Ballots cast
Total ballots cast and counted 5,974,121 5,851,625 −122,496 (−2.1%)
Cast in person on Election Day 2,344,886 3,130,240 +785,354 (+33.5%)
Cast in person during early voting 1,345,715 1,536,604 +190,889 (+14.2%)
Cast by mail or absentee ballot 2,135,600 1,060,096 −1,075,504 (−50.4%)
Cast by mail in an all-mail election Reported as not applicable 140 No change shown: one year has no figure
Cast by overseas and military voters 21,854 17,184 −4,670 (−21.4%)
Cast as a provisional ballot 126,066 104,848 −21,218 (−16.8%)
Mail ballots
Mail ballots sent to voters 2,314,198 1,131,278 −1,182,920 (−51.1%)
Mail ballots returned by voters 2,144,504 1,066,229 −1,078,275 (−50.3%)
Mail ballots counted 2,135,600 1,058,400 −1,077,200 (−50.4%)
Mail ballots rejected 8,904 8,335 −569 (−6.4%)
Why mail ballots were rejected
arrived after the deadline 3,282 2,697 −585 (−17.8%)
no voter signature 1,259 535 −724 (−57.5%)
no witness signature Reported as not applicable 1 No change shown: one year has no figure
signature did not match 414 463 +49 (+11.8%)
unofficial envelope Reported as not applicable 269 No change shown: one year has no figure
no ballot in the envelope Not reported to the Election Assistance Commission 100 No change shown: one year has no figure
no secrecy envelope Not asked in that year's survey 219 No change shown: one year has no figure
more than one ballot in the envelope 20 53 +33 (+165%)
envelope not sealed Not reported to the Election Assistance Commission 0 No change shown: one year has no figure
no postmark Not asked in that year's survey 475 No change shown: one year has no figure
no address on the envelope Not reported to the Election Assistance Commission 46 (84 of 88 places reported) No change shown: one year has no figure
voter had died 3 60 (84 of 88 places reported) +57 (+1,900%)
voter had already voted Not reported to the Election Assistance Commission 15 (81 of 88 places reported) No change shown: one year has no figure
required document missing 17 1,062 (87 of 88 places reported) +1,045 (+6,147.1%)
voter not eligible Not asked in that year's survey 100 (84 of 88 places reported) No change shown: one year has no figure
no ballot application 0 0 (76 of 88 places reported) 0
no election official signature Reported as not applicable Not asked in that year's survey No change shown: one year has no figure
other reasons 3,909 (82 of 88 places reported) 3,463 (44 of 88 places reported) −446 (−11.4%)
Provisional ballots
Provisional ballots cast 154,675 139,051 −15,624 (−10.1%)
Provisional ballots fully counted 124,964 104,321 −20,643 (−16.5%)
Provisional ballots partly counted 1,102 626 −476 (−43.2%)
Provisional ballots rejected 24,369 34,304 +9,935 (+40.8%)
Overseas and military voters
Registered overseas and military voters Not reported to the Election Assistance Commission 19,839 (74 of 88 places reported) No change shown: one year has no figure
Overseas and military ballots sent 25,742 21,759 −3,983 (−15.5%)
Overseas and military ballots returned 21,601 17,470 (86 of 88 places reported) −4,131 (−19.1%)
Overseas and military ballots counted 21,388 16,976 −4,412 (−20.6%)
Polling places and poll workers
Polling places and voting sites Not asked in that year's survey 3,267 No change shown: one year has no figure
Election Day polling places 3,563 3,231 −332 (−9.3%)
Precincts 8,933 8,868 −65 (−0.7%)
Poll workers 47,761 40,084 (85 of 88 places reported) −7,677 (−16.1%)
Ballot drop boxes Not asked in that year's survey 90 No change shown: one year has no figure

Download these figures as a spreadsheet (CSV)

Compare two places

Choose a second place to see the two side by side: a table for one election and a chart of how many ballots were counted for every 100 registered voters.

Midterm to midterm: 2014, 2018 and 2022

Midterm elections are held halfway through a president's term, and fewer people vote in them than in presidential years, so the fairest comparison is with other midterms.

Measure201420182022
Registered voters 7,748,201 8,070,917 8,029,950
Total ballots cast and counted 3,149,876 4,520,678 4,201,368
Ballots counted per 100 registered 40.7 56 52.3
Cast in person on Election Day 2,236,953 3,040,698 2,654,497
Cast in person during early voting 145,631 429,916 550,092
Cast by mail or absentee ballot 717,866 941,447 911,517
Mail ballots returned by voters 716,951 941,447 914,127
Mail ballots rejected 10,546 11,462 2,610

Download these figures as a spreadsheet (CSV)

2026 so far in Ohio

Power & Politics holds no 2026 early or mail vote counts for Ohio right now. The state may not post them before Election Day, or may not allow them to be read automatically.

How this archive is built

The U.S. Election Assistance Commission asks every local election office to complete the Election Administration and Voting Survey after each November general election. In 2026 the commission published all 11 surveys from 2004 to 2024 as one combined file, with consistent column names and county versions of the data. This page reads that county file and changes nothing in it except where noted below.

  • A number is what the local office reported. The commission uses four codes for no number: not reported, does not apply, skipped, and not asked that year. The page shows each as a sentence.
  • A state or national total adds up only the places that reported that line. When some did not, the total is marked partial and says how many places reported.
  • This site withholds a figure when it contradicts the same county's other answers: more mail ballots returned than sent, many more ballots counted than registered voters, or polling places far above the county's own precinct count. Those cells say so. 1665 figures across all years are withheld.
  • Counties in Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Vermont, and in Wisconsin from 2012, are built by the commission from town or municipal reports. Connecticut's counties are the former counties the commission used, not the planning regions the Census Bureau now lists.
  • Polling place counts are not the same in every year: before 2018 the survey counted early-voting sites with Election Day sites, and the survey did not ask for a total in 2018 and 2020.
  • The data holds counts for places only. There is no voter-level information.
Files and survey items, by year
ElectionPlacesFigures withheld hereOriginal survey items (ballots cast, registered voters, mail ballots sent)
20243,1207 cast F1a; registered A1a; mail sent C1a
20223,11926 cast F1a; registered A1a; mail sent C1a
20203,12139 cast F1a; registered A1a; mail sent C1a
20183,118169 cast F1a; registered A1a; mail sent C1a
20163,11857 cast F1a; registered A1a; mail sent C1a
20143,11924 cast QF1a; registered QA1a; mail sent QC1a
20123,118872 cast QF1a; registered QA1a; mail sent QC1a
20103,11765 cast QF1a; registered QA1a; mail sent QC1a
20083,05694 cast F1a, F1a_NotAvailable; registered A1; mail sent C1a, C1a_NotAvailable
20063,116158 cast Q34Total; registered Q022006Total; mail sent --
20043,118154 cast 2a; registered 1a+1b; mail sent 4b

Every year comes from one file: EAVS_Time_Series_County_Collapse_2004_2024.xlsx ↗, SHA-256 a10de20cba65514f92c9212910ff32e5e9a3fd82baec474ea46793940551e344, retrieved Nov 2, 2026. The commission's guide to the file, which names the original survey item for every column in every year: user guide ↗ (SHA-256 6115d01dffcc356e5e60707ef12a0c7a3c598d2678f9f22c36a2dab3e7693ba3). Each year's raw survey files are listed on the commission's EAVS history page ↗.